Judges announced for this year’s Balmoral Show

5th Apr 2023

The Royal Ulster Agricultural Society is delighted to announce an exceptional line-up of judges for the 154th Balmoral Show in partnership with Ulster Bank, taking place from Wednesday 10th to Saturday 13th May 2023.

HORSES & PONIES                          

Clydesdales, Clydesdales Ridden,

Heavy Trade Turnouts, Clydesdale Young Handlers

Brian McMillan

Breeding & Young Stock

Mrs Kate Nicholson

Mr Jack Cochrane



Wendy Phipps

Amelia Bevin

Kirtsy Aird


Performance Irish Draught

Maura Rooney

Liam Cotter

Sarah Bright – Philips


Ridden Irish Draught

Maura Rooney

Sarah Bright – Philips


Cobs & Maxi Cobs

Emily Corrie

Bridget Millington


Coloured Horses

Bridget Millington


Ladies Hunters Astride, Riding Horses,

Esther Rostron

Bridget Millington


Ladies Side Saddle – Balmoral Classic Competition

Esther Rostron

Bridget Millington


Working Hunter Horses

David Bennett

Jane Collins


Small Horse & Cob Working Hunter

David Bennett

Jane Collins


Hackneys, Private Driving & Light Trade Turnouts

Julie Howard


Racehorse to Riding Horse


Mr Noel Meade

Mr Paul Carberry


‘Balmoral Star of the Future’ Performance Horse Championships

Lt Col Tom Freyne

Children’s Ridden Ponies

Shirley Dennison


Children’s Working Hunter Ponies

Stuart Hollings

Morean Hamilton

Connemara Ponies Showing / Ridden

Connemara Working Hunters

Patricia Hoey

Peter O’Malley



Elaine Lewis


Referee Judge

Diane Gibson

John Bamber





Badger Faced Texel

Henry Jewitt


Andrew Bailie


Ewan Burgess

Bleu Du Maine

Will Price

Blue Texel

Andrew Bishop

Bluefaced Leicester

Kevin Ridley

Border Leicester

Peter Brown


Arwyn Thomas

Dorset Horn & Poll

Graham Baker

Dutch Spotted

James Baker

Hampshire Down

Judith Galbraith

Ile de France

William Hutchinson


Scott Dalrymple


Hamilton Hassard

North Country Cheviot

Jonnie Campbell

Minority Breeds

John Mercer

Rouge de l’Ouest

Ian Teasdale


John Gibb


Roy Campbell

Valais Blacknose

Gerallt Jones


Caroline Anderson

Interbreed Pairs of Ewe & Ram Lambs, Shearling Ewes and Rams

Kirree Kermode

Interbreed Pairs Championship, Group of Three

John Stevenson

Interbreed Overall Championships

Jim Aiken

Sheep Young Handlers

Rachel Megarrell




Steven Thomas

Goat Young Handler

Lyndsay Greer




Large White, Landrace, Pork Pigs, Interbreed Championship, Traditional Breeds, Pork Pigs, Pairs, Interbreed Championship

Steve Loveless

Pig Pairs

Brian King

Pig Young Handler

Cynthia Aiken

Eggs, Rabbits & Cavies

Shelled Eggs & Championships

Jonathan Fletcher

Children’s Decorated Eggs

Jonathan Fletcher


Derek Medlock



Joyce Medlock

Beef Cattle

Aberdeen Angus

Eustace Burke


Tom Brennan


Murray Lyle


Stewart Stronach


Ian Nimmo

British Blonde

Roy Coney

British Blue

Andrew Price


Glen Welsh


Andrew Marsden

Beef Shorthorns

John Scott


Hazel Bickerton

Irish Moiled

Trevor Chadwick

Beef Interbreed Performance, Interbreed Stock Judging

John Kingham

Beef Pairs, Group Championships

Andrew Hughes

Beef Groups of 5 Native & Continental and

Exhibitor Bred Pairs

George Harvey

Junior Championship, Champion of Champions

Andrew Hughes

Beef Presentation Award

Alan Armstrong

Alexandra Woods

Beef Young Handler

Cameron Jackson

Dairy Cattle


Michael Yates

Ayrshire, Jersey, Dairy Shorthorn,

Blaise Tomlinson

Interbreed Dairy Pairs, Groups Championships, Champion of Champion

James Waring

Dairy Young Handler

James Waring

Dairy Presentation Award

Alan Armstrong

Alexandra Woods

Trade Stands


Trade Stand Awards

Mared Jones

Champion of Champions


Champion of Champions

Kirstie McMurray